29
Jul
08

DS-10 Update, a few more details.

Update 8/1, demo video:

My DS-10 Has Arrived. Not going to bother describing the feature set entirely, as I’m busy using the DS-10 right now and theres tons of information and videos already out there, but I thought I’d drop a few tidbits of info that I found pleasing:

The pattern management and solo/mute features are very similar to the way Electribes work. You can ‘Lock’ the selection of a new pattern to wait for the first pattern to finish playing. This makes coming out of mutes and solo performances easier to come out of because it frees up your hands.

Each stored session is a collection of a project’s patterns (PTN) and all the current settings of the 2 synthesizers, 4 drum parts, patching. etc. The FX are also similar to the Electribes.. each of the 4 drum parts can all have individual effects [chorus, delay or flanger] and then there’s a global fx chain that can be mixed in various ways [syn1, syn2, syn1+syn2, all (including drums), off]. All of the FX can be sync’d to the BPM or runfreely. All basic synth parameters, vol/pan, cutoff/resonance, note/gate can be recorded in realtime. Further modulation, to a decent degree as on the MS-10 is available on the patchbay page.

There’s also a Song mode where you can string a ton of patterns together. You have several save slots, but not only can u save a project but you can also store presets for all the drum parts and synth parts seperately to be used in any project.

The Drum parts are actually all full blown synth parts, with the lack of a release on the envelope and the ability to tweak the parameters in realtime (though their patch bays are also there like syn1/2 so you can automate w/ lfos still). All the patching options are also still there. The sequencer for the drum parts by default is the matrix sequencer like you see in all the pictures and videos, but you can alternately use a piano roll sequencer. This really opens things up as you could imagine.

5 Responses to “DS-10 Update, a few more details.”


  1. 1 Alex
    August 5, 2008 at 2:33 am

    How is the sound quality though? I’ve heard from a few people that when their are large amounts of layers the sound quality drastically decreases. I wouldn’t know from experience, I dont own one.
    -Alex-

  2. 2 osc1
    August 5, 2008 at 3:00 am

    The sound quality is surprisingly very good given with what we’re dealing with, you have to take in mind that this is a DS output with a headphone 1/8″ plug .. so its never aimed to be perfect. The sampling/bit rates on the ds are below say.. a cd as well, but where this comes into the play on music games, etc. isnt as much on the ds-10; theres alot of anti-aliasing programming going on here to keep it clean.

    There’s no drop in sound quality as you add more sounds and layer more, i blame that on poor mixing and ppl that are clipping their output.

    The area where you will most notice the aliasing (which on a portable like this is actually considered a character trait and not a flaw) is on long release envelopes as a sound fades out.. specially on long releases on lower octave sounds. I’m not bothered by this at all. If I want a pure sound I won’t use a nintendo or portable, i’ll use one of my synths or a vsti.

    Aside from the antialiasing (attempts) there are other things the app does to make the sound “better”.. most notably the gain of the output is given an extra drive (a bit like a automake-up maximizer or automatic/multiband hard limiter) so that the output levels are typically louder than you would expect out of a DS game.

  3. 3 Alex
    August 6, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    yea that makes sense, especially with people allowing too much sound to go through and clipping. I have very little studio/mixing experience myself, I’m more of a live performance kinda guy, but I have seen people who don’t know what they are doing allowing too much through the output, completly ruining the output.

    Thanks for the insight,
    -Alex-
    musiciansenlightenment.wordpress.com

  4. 4 Tweekhead
    January 3, 2009 at 1:36 am

    Hello,

    I just stumbled upon this site and love it! I had a question about the vid of the DS 10 Synth above. What was the bpm for the tune? I love the snare rolls and I just got my first DS lite, and the DS 10 Sythn today, so I’m a bit of a nub=D

    Did you use the delay, and or the gate feature to create the rolls?

    Tweekhead

    • 5 osc1
      January 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

      Tweek: I believe I used a BPM of around 80.. I’m at work right now so I have to guess that off the top of my head. I created double time sounds for the snares and hihats by using the individual delay settings in the drum editors combined with the volume gating on the sequencer. Good guess, glad to see someone that knows synths playing with the DS-10, it’s an amazing piece of portable software 🙂


Leave a Reply

